The Adventure of Iyin

This is a story inspired by the Holy Spirit, fictional for parents and children alike.

I ran as fast as I could but it appeared as though I wasn’t. The wind lifted my legs as I ran and increased my speed. I covered so much distance and by the time I stopped, I couldn’t see anyone around me.

It appeared as though, I was free from those angry men but I was lost too.

Pardon me, darling. A lost person keeps on talking if you understand me.

I’m Iyin and the Holy Spirit has been giving me some roller coaster experiences of late. This last one took me to a land I know nothing about.

Three weeks ago, my campus fellowship organized an evangelical outreach and I got the nudge to go.

My friends, Tobi, Fiyin and Tayo were so excited. I was scared. I just knew this village had its perks.

If God sent us though, then there was nothing to be scared of, right?

A week after, we arrived at Ìpólé Àgbàdo. This village was quite exposed to civilization. It had a church, more like a cathedral, Community Primary School and a basic health centre amongst other grassroot facilities. The church was the only public place of interest to us though as there was also a shrine area that had been deserted by many.

As we walked round the village after visiting the Baálé, we spotted an area where two middle aged women taught the children.

I was drawn to them and quickly walked to greet them but as I drew nearer, I noticed something really strange.

What they were taught to do was more like sorcery. The children were taught to engage in the metaphysical realm, speak in tongues and even go in trance.

If these women were declared pagans, it would have made the event more understandable. They were Christians.

They attended the only church in the village, a C&S church and were part of the prophetic unit.

It was here I understood what they were doing to the children. Children are naive and always amazed by the giftings of the spirit so teaching them to be active users of these gift would be an easy way to get more children into the church. But the mannerisms of their teachings and what was taught had nothing to do with the Spirit. It was pure black magic.

The devil had hijacked their idea and deceived both parents, teachers and even the children.

“This must be hurting God”, I thought.

While I was thinking, Tobi, Fiyin and Tayo had caught up with me. They greeted those women.

They stared at me. They obviously could see and feel God’s hurt.

We held hands and immediately asked to watch the kids so they could rest. This was evening and those women were definitely thirsty for a break.

Immediately they left, we swung into action.

We prayed together first and asked for instructions on how to make use of the two hours given us.

God responded almost immediately we opened our mouths to pray.

We were overwhelmed by how strategic God was and started to do as He said.

Tobi, Fiyin, Tayo and I took to our positions and prayed with the children. We then started to…

To be continued next Monday .

7 thoughts on “The Adventure of Iyin

Leave a comment